A Soul Plan in Dying

27 Oct

I’ve been asked about Brittany Maynard and what may have been her pre-birth plan for the end of her life. She availed herself of Oregon’s Death with Dignity Law, and through physician aid in dying, ended her life in November of last year. On the day of her death, she posted on Facebook, “Today is the day I have chosen to pass away with dignity in the face of my terminal illness, this terrible brain cancer that has taken so much from me…but would have taken so much more.” Before she died she created the Brittany Maynard Fund, which works to legalize aid in dying in states where it’s now illegal.

Could Brittany’s end-of-life experience have been part of her life plan? And if so, why would a soul plan such an experience?

It’s important to understand that the soul can incarnate in any time period, location, and set of circumstances. So, if Brittany’s soul wanted to have an experience of protracted suffering at the end of a lifetime, her soul could easily have created that experience. For example, her soul could have chosen to incarnate in a time period in which there is no physician aid in dying. Or, if it were important for Brittany to live in our current time period, her soul could have planned circumstances in which she either would never hear of, or never have access to, physician aid in dying. Or, her soul could have planned for her to be someone – perhaps a very religious person – who would never avail herself of physician aid in dying.

I believe that Brittany’s soul knew she would have access to physician aid in dying and wanted her to have that access. Her free will decision as to whether to make use of such aid would be honored and respected by her soul and Spirit regardless of the choice she made. That said, I believe it’s very likely that her soul felt (before she was born) that the choice to avail herself of physician aid would be the highest vibrational choice.

Why would Brittany’s soul feel this way? What could be the deeper spiritual meaning and purpose?

One possibility is that Brittany’s soul sought both to cultivate and to model for others the divine virtue of courage. In this sense Brittany is a way-shower. The courage she showed is now part of her soul for eternity. Another possibility is that Brittany was here to teach that we are all the powerful creators of our experiences. She showed us that she was not a victim, but rather someone with power and choice. A third possibility is that her soul sought to teach that death is not to be feared. Our society views death as tragic, sad, and something to be delayed at all cost. From our human perspective such feelings are natural. From a soul-level perspective, however, death is a transition, a type of graduation – and perhaps even something to be celebrated.

In my view Brittany is a great lightworker.

25 Responses to “A Soul Plan in Dying”

  1. Marsha Downs October 28, 2015 at 12:59 am #

    I totally agree with you, Rob, that Brittany was a lightworker and a way-shower. Death is not to be feared, as it is not an end, but a new beginning. When people realize that they are not their bodies, but their eternal soul, things like this will make more sense to them. A good newsletter… Thank you, my friend.

  2. Me October 29, 2015 at 6:40 pm #

    I thought a lot about this when her story came to light and agree whole-heartedly that she chose this path. Thank you for explaining it.

  3. Ann Merivale October 29, 2015 at 7:09 pm #

    Yes, I can see your point of view, but my problem with euthanasia is that people might use it to escape their karma of suffering. Obviously one can’t make generalisations, but that’s always been my fear. Ann Merivale

    • Frank Rosebrock October 30, 2015 at 2:44 pm #

      There is no karma of suffering. Suffering is not needed, unless we choose it. We do not need to escape something we had planned before.

  4. mike godfrey October 29, 2015 at 7:27 pm #

    Absolutely. From my understanding souls make these choices based on their accumulated karma and potential options for further spiritual progress. I covered this in part of my book “What’s the Matter?’ by Dr. Mike Godfrey with reviews and book available on Amazon Kindle. We are usually crying whilst everyone else is laughing when we enter the physical but we want to be laughing when we leave after achieving our objective whilst others are crying.

    • Andrew Scott October 29, 2015 at 10:04 pm #

      That was absolutely wonderful. I, of course, totally concur but it was the way you put it that really stood out. Thank you.

  5. Michael October 29, 2015 at 7:31 pm #

    Without doubt Brittany was born at the time she was meant to be, and lived the life she was meant to live, die has she was meant to die, if not, then it would not have happened. She is a leading light in the sense that no man, woman or governing body should have more say over you has a human being than you, especially when it comes to death . The only reason the powers that be forbid us to end our own lives is because we are money to our respective governments, it is nothing to do with going to hell damnations, that is but a scare tactic which has worked for millennium. However someone dies, it is because it was meant to be.all death is the same, we return to godhead . The difference between what Brittany x has done, and say what my best friend did a few years ago, ( he hung himself), is in the energy we leave behind, everyone knew and was ready and accepting of Brittany’s choice, which left positive energy behind for her family and friends, where with my friends passing, the negative energy left behind was suffocating, especially for his family and friends. Though for myself I may add, I understand his decision was his alone and no judgment could I make on him, my only actions were to write him a eulogy deserved of of a childhood friend, and say a prayer for him , from the day of his death, to the day of his burial, wishing him the safest and most peaceful journey. Since then I have had several visitations and angel synchronicities concerning him, and I know he is all well and good in spirit. We are divine sentient beings, and no one else has the right to choose for us, or make decisions for us, and definitely judge us. X

    • Andrew Scott October 29, 2015 at 10:08 pm #

      The only problem with suicide is that if you don’t have permission from your soul (what I would call your Overself) you will just be sent back. I wanted to end things but was told not to. I had work to finish.

      • Kim October 29, 2015 at 10:40 pm #

        I totally agree with you, Andrew. The Ego/Lower Self might want to end the sufferings but the Higher Self (Overself) might see an alternative. The soul will be reincarnated to finish whatever life lessons that she has not finished. Taking one’s life does not end everything in the soul’s perspective. I do not judge her decision nor her freewill. We are all responsible for our lives and we create our own reality.

    • rysfam October 30, 2015 at 2:08 am #

      Wow Michael, I so enjoyed reading your post. It was comforting and so very sad, then morphed into truth all so very eloquently. I wish I could write like you as I want to write a book about my son. He ‘crossed himself over’ 4 yrs ago this coming Thanksgiving. He had just turned 26. He fell in love with a woman (a rebound catastrophe) after the love of his life broke up with him. This (rebound woman) suffered from a wicked disease called Borderline Personality Disorder. Long story short, I felt his death was collateral damage of trying to cope with her and her illness. Then since his death I have read many books about death, Robert Schwartz’s books are some of my favorites along with Michael Newtons. Your writing feels like A PERFECT explanation of how I’ve felt about my son since I’ve had to give up blaming her. I now know he chose that particular exit strategy for reasons I will never know but it’s not important. What is important is that I got the honor of being his Mom for as long as I did, and am honored to this day to receive signs from him that he still lives, loves and has a being that is/was so beautiful. Heaven gained a wondrous soul the day he got there.
      I’m very sorry about this loss of your best friend Michael.

      • Michael October 30, 2015 at 5:10 pm #

        Hi rysfam x Thankyou for your kind comments. Write from your heart and you will finish your story. The greatest book ever written is the book of life, where we all have our own chapter. Much like any other book we read, we fall in love and connect with the characters in the pages, we want them to be there at the end of the story, then we turn a page and their no longer there. You should be proud that you shared some time in the same chapter as your son, this time is the most precious commodity we have in life, with those we love, and they never leave us either, as the soul is energy and energy cannot die or be destroyed only transcend into another vibration, the vibration of spirit. Loves light to you x

    • lisanjus November 26, 2015 at 7:09 am #

      You helped yourself in helping him.

  6. David Taylor October 29, 2015 at 8:32 pm #

    Thank you for your post. Suicide and the afterlife are difficult and these thoughts are truly helpful. Maybe to the list of reasons why Brittany’s soul may have chosen this experience we can add: In the end, we are not to judge the decisions of others but simply have faith that our souls make plans that serve the highest good for ourselves and others.

  7. Sandy October 29, 2015 at 9:37 pm #

    that was beautifully said Michael…

    • Michael October 30, 2015 at 9:28 am #

      Thankyou Sandy x I would just like to add that when a life comes to an end, they will either have learned their life lesson or are unable to learn it, due to living life fully submerged in the ego. When we live life this way, we also love this way, it is a false love which leaves us physically, emotionally and most of all spiritually empty . For example we love our partners yet cheat on them , abuse them, we love our children yet beat them, neglect them. Their is only one real love and that is divine love, it is this love that we come here to learn, and when we do the our souls will light up the sky more on death, than when born. X

  8. Dana Taylor October 29, 2015 at 10:19 pm #

    Reblogged this on Supernal Living with Dana Taylor and commented:
    Rob Schwartz is the author of the fascinating book YOUR SOUL’S PLAN. He brings an interesting perspective to life and after-life.

  9. Kim October 29, 2015 at 10:31 pm #

    From my understanding, souls who take their own lives (committing suicide) before they finish their life lessons will have to come back to finish their life lessons and the life span left. Hence, there are souls who come to this Earth for brief period of time to do that and die young. Wouldn’t Brittany has to do that (unless she has already finished her life lessons on Earth)? Of course, freewill is to be honoured and nobody wants to go through sufferings.

    • Frank Rosebrock October 30, 2015 at 3:04 pm #

      I had a phase of some years when I was often deeply depressed. When commuting to travel by train, I used to imagine how it was to throw myself before the train when it came. However, I knew always that I would not do so, because I knew already that I had lived several times and had several times of them “committed” suicide. I used this as an escape, as an abbreviation, totally other than Brittney’s case. Now knowing that I would have to come again and go again through all the same pain, in order to get to the same point and finally learn the lesson, bewared me of taking this road again. I felt like I had to break through this now and only now, I did not want to make these experiences again. I am now slowly recovering from depression and burnout, only sometimes feeling depressed again now. Almost 3 years ago, after a heavy appendix surgery, I was even granted the occasion to chose totally freely if I wanted to stay or not. I was told that any choice would be fully ok. I chose life, in order to learn more. I think it was the first time that I chose and said yes to life and when times seem to be difficult now, from time to time, I keep telling myself that I have chosen this, and this is a big relief. I feel totally eager to get this lesson done, whatever it is that I need to learn. Feeling depressed right today, I see also that it has been some weeks since the last time, so there is big improvement, and I know it won’t stay and so I can handle it better. I know that tomorrow I will feel great again. Somehow I can even feel great a little bit while still feeling depressed. Might sound a bit weird, but that’s how I feel right now. I want so much to enjoy this ride of my life! And I will. God bless you all. I feel very thankful.

      • Kim October 30, 2015 at 7:56 pm #

        Frank Rosebrock, I glad to hear that you chose life. Life is sacred and precious. When one takes one’s own life, usually the very last moment of the state of the consciousness is compromised and it goes into the soul’s psyche. A friend of mine took her own life by getting drunk and drowned herself in a bathtub. A medium who channeled her said my friend regretted her action at the moment when she was about to enter Death’s gate but it was too late. I have dreamt of her and she “lives” in a body of water. No matter how bad the sufferings may be, sometimes one is able to be at peace with oneself when one seek the Source. I met someone who had a brain tumour but refused to have allopathic treatment. He drank fresh juices and spent lengthy period of time going for meditation retreats (sometimes meditating for weeks in a row). He told me I had no idea what kind pain he endured but I knew he found his peace when he eventually made the transition on the anniversary of his wedding, and dying in his wife’s arms in their home. Meditation is a great method to shift our consciousness to a different level. In the moment of this shift (beta or theta state of consciousness), one does not feel pain. I used to have very bad migraines and I have experienced this blissful state of no pain when I meditated and shifted my consciousness.

        As an energy healer, I can tell you that a person who is depressed has a heavy emotional body or what Eckhart Tolle would call it as a pain body. Purge your etheric body of the emotional body (created by our Ego/Lower Self) and you will ger rid of your depression.

        When we come back, incarnation after incarnation to learn our life lessons, the lessons get harder each time. It is better to face our lessons and be done with it.

        I leave you in Peace. Have a blissful life.

  10. DM October 30, 2015 at 12:29 am #

    This is a really great post and some really thought provoking comments. Lots to ponder.

    I suppose I’m of the mind that ultimately a person’s choice is really none of our business. I’ve had family and friends commit or come close to commiting suicide. I have family who are looking into Assisted Transitioning. I love them and miss/will miss them, but I don’t know what their soul lessons are. I just pray to love them no matter what. This is not our lasting home, as I see it anyway.

    Peace!

  11. Dan October 30, 2015 at 5:41 am #

    Hi Bob, When I give a PLR I ask the person to go to their last day and describe their death. It allows a person to feel that their soul passes from one life to another. I ask them to not fear death. Instead, to look forward to meeting up with their Guides that help them design their next life. The less we fear, the more that we can open up our hearts to God’s love. God bless you.

  12. Tiaan van der Burgh October 30, 2015 at 6:00 am #

    Hello Rob
    I have been following your work, on and off for the last eight years, using the “Soul Plan” beliefs in my daily living. Up to now I have not found any reason or proof that life does not work exactly how I read it in your first book “Courageous Souls”. If you ever come to Cape Town, South Africa, please let me know. I am studying at the moment, finalizing my year end exams after the 6th November, where after I am definitely going to read your new book. I am very interested in doing the “BLSR” at some stage, but first things first: read your new book and then investigate how and when I do BLSR.
    Keep up the good work of helping us to let go of the fear of reaching our continuation day !!!
    Tiaan

  13. Brenda Seals November 2, 2015 at 5:07 pm #

    Rob,
    Kim posted that our life plans get harder each time we return. Is this true?
    I read your book and it helped me so much to understand and let go.

    Brenda

    • yoursoulsplan November 2, 2015 at 5:15 pm #

      Brenda, sometimes they get harder, sometimes easier. There is something I call a “vacation lifetime,” which is sometimes chosen as a reward to ourselves for having learned well in a difficult lifetime. With love, Rob

  14. Carol Miller January 27, 2016 at 2:08 am #

    Dear Friends,

    I have been a mobile veterinarian for 30 years and have euthanized thousands of animals in their homes. Individuals and families reach out to me to assist their beloved pets in making a peaceful transition. After lovingly and unstintingly caring for their aging or chronically ill animal companion, they make the heartbreaking decision to set their pet free from its suffering. Most people would agree that this is a kindness and an unselfish act of love for another living being.
    Why do we as humans hold ourselves to a different standard? The desire to provide a peaceful passing for ourselves is an expression of self love; one of the highest forms of love there is. I also followed Brittany’s story in the news. She made an informed decision and I applaud her for it, and for the tremendous example she provided in demonstrating that we too may be kind and loving towards ourselves.
    Blessings,
    Carol

Leave a Reply

